“What Do You Want to Do When You Grow Up?”

IMG_4880The other day I was asked what I want to do when I grow up. At age 19 I surely did not expect to hear that yet again, and then I realized that I may be growing up but I still have no sure idea. “Journalism.” That’s my answer, or so I have thought after a whole year of college. And that’s why I started this. What would I like to do for the rest of my life? To be honest I still have no idea. So many times I have heard, and I have even said it myself, “I don’t want to grow up.”

I don’t think anyone can argue with that statement when the hardest tasks each day were making sure I colored within the lines and did not push the Capri Sun straw through the pouch, I still struggle with this one to this day, but that’s exactly the point. We may be growing older but the struggles pile on one another. So how do we deal with all of them? We learn how to do things efficiently and focus on the next problem, then the next problem, and another, and another, and so on. Boring, I know.

But without all of those problems we wouldn’t learn. What does all of this have to do with what I want to do when I grow up? Well that’s the thing: I’m writing. It’s what I like to do, simple as that, I always have. Yes, I understand I can’t just sit around a write about myself and expect to get money, but to answer the main question, what I want to do when I grow up is write. I can deal with problems easier if I can write. After a year of college I don’t need to have my whole life figured out. I think that is what so many people, especially my age, struggle with. Yes, we spend all this money and time to find that one thing we are set out to do for the rest of our lives, but that’s growing up, and what if you don’t actually like doing it, then what’s the point?

So instead of going insane trying to find that exact thing right now, I’ll just write about soccer, probably a lot of that, what it’s like to be a college student surrounded by craziness from the media, expectations, and everything else society so greatly, or not so greatly, brings into existence.

Alright, I’m off to go get some Capri Sun.

Leave a Reply

